The next major release of our application 8.19 will take place on July 29th, 2017. In this release, we introduce a New Kiosk Mode feature for the Mobile Portal. Now a portal owner will have the ability to prevent the portal user from accessing completed and uploaded responses and tasks, which will be completely removed from the portal after upload. This release also includes some optimizations of existing plugins, system architecture improvements and fixes, and Mobile App/Windows Desktop App updates.
Security Options setting on Participant Portal page (Kiosk Mode)
A new setting Security Options will be added to the Portal Settings page (Keep uploaded forms and tasks on the device section) and will work in combination with the Delete after Upload/Delete after N days setting. It will prevent portal users from accessing Completed Responses and Tasks after they have been uploaded.
There are two Security Options available:
- Allow Users Access to Completed Responses - this setting in combination with 'Delete after Upload/Delete after N days' option will work for the Offline App only and remove data from the device to save space, but will not delete response headers. Therefore, when the internet is available, the Portal user can still click on the header of the completed response and download it.
- Deny Users Access to Completed Responses - this setting in combination with 'Delete after Upload/Delete after N days' option will apply to both Online Portal and Offline App, and will not allow the portal user to access completed and uploaded responses and tasks, as their headers will also be removed from the portal.
This new setting will be applied to Completed and Uploaded responses and tasks only, it will not affect In Progress and Completed (Not Uploaded) responses.
- This setting does not impact Task Management.
- 'Always' option in Keep uploaded forms and tasks on device section is compatible only with Allow Users Access to Completed Responses security option.
For Responses, X days are counted from the day when response was created (on server); for Tasks, X days are counted from the day the task was Closed.
For Tasks, it does not matter whether the form linked to the Task has been Completed. You will be able to access the form until that Task is Closed.
As the Portal administrator, you will be able to change the setting from Allow Users Access to Completed Responses to Deny Users Access to Completed Responses and vice versa when needed. Once the Security option is changed, Online portal users will immediately see the change reflected on their portal. Offline users will need to synchronize their portal for this change to take effect.
Security Options will apply to the whole portal, not to individual forms/tasks.