Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Contacts Synchronization is used to import the list of contacts from external sources instead of creating contacts manually one by one.

You can also schedule automatic updates of the contacts.

Contacts are synchronized with the CSV data file, which can be stored locally on your computer or remotely on the FTP/SFTP or HTTP/HTTPS servers.

To set up a new synchronization or edit an existing one, go to the Contacts page, select necessary Contact manager from the list and click the Import button on the top right;

If you have not set up any synchronization yet or want to create new one, click the Setup New Import button.
Data you are going to synchronize your contacts with, can be located either remotely on FTP or HTTP servers or locally on your computer. 

  • Select from your computer to browse for data file located on your computer.

  • Select from network or internet if your data source is located remotely and indicate path to it. For example, keysurvey.com/sync.csv.

If an import of the file from network or internet was selected, it is possible to select one of the protocols to be used(HTTP/HTTPS/FTP/SFTP/SslFtp(explicit or emplicit)). If you indicated link on FTP/SFTP/SslFTP(explicit or implicit) location, link structure should be as follows: file_location/filename.csv and login and password must be specified for this location:

Please note, that only "/" slash must be used in a link that determines a file location. Link with a backslashes will be considered as an incorrect.

For instance, this link structure in the correct one: test-ftp.net/Test_user/CM_import.csv


Following sequence of steps is common for both options:

  1. Select Consider First Line as Header check box if data file contains column headers.

  2. Set data source delimiters that are used within the data file you are synchronizing your contacts with. If you use data file with atypical delimiters select the Other option and input delimiter you used into the text field.

  3. You can keep your Contact Manager updated in accordance to the data file. Select the Delete contacts not found in the synchronization file option and contacts that are missed in the data file will be removed from the Contact Manager.

  4. To keep existing contacts updated select the Update the contacts with changes from the import file option.

  5. Specify an email in case of errors during the import emails to be send to. If you wish to import the file every time, even if it has not been changed after the last import, select the checkbox under step 4: Import file every time, regardless of its state.

Click Back to go back to the Synchronization home page and cancel current import.

Click Next to proceed to the next step. On the next page it is possible to see the preview of the imported file. Click Next if everything looks correct and click Back to check the import file.

Mapping page allows you to map data from the data source with the contact columns. If your data file contains more fields than appear in the Contact manager, you can add new Contact Manager fields right from this page.

 Click here for more details:
  1. Click the Add Field button;

  2. Click on the data source column from the Import File columns field;

  3. Click on the column you want to synchronize with from the Contact Manager Fields field;

  4. To apply mapping between selected columns click Apply Mapping button;

  5. Select the column to use as a unique identifier so there are no duplicates within the Contact Manager. You can also use the Generate unique key automatically option, thus the data from the imported file will be overwritten with the random 9-digits unique codes and saved to the Contact Manager.

  6. To delete applied mapping click the Remove button next to the appropriate entry from the Mapped Columns field.

Click Back to go back to the previous step.

Click the Run Import button to apply all settings and perform contacts import.

If you import contacts from remote data sources, you can either import contacts right away or schedule automatic data synchronization.

 Click here for more details:
  • Import Time Select start synchronization time and time zone. For more information on time zones see the Time Zones help topic.

  • Recurrence pattern Select synchronization recurrence.

  • Range of recurrence Indicate time period when scheduling settings should be applied.

  • Specify the email address and notification emails will be sent to this address in case of errors during the import.

  • Click the Finish button to apply all settings and perform synchronization.

Synchronization history

The Synchronization home page displays the list of existing synchronizations and their details.

 

  • Name Shows sync name.

  • Latest Import Displays date and time last synchronization was performed.

  • Next Import Displays next synchronization date and time.

  • Import Now Click the Go button next to the synchronization you want to perform immediately. This option is applicable for importing data from external FTP or HTTP sources.

  • Status This column shows the detailed information on the performed import. Import can be finished either successfully and then green mark will appear in this column or with an errors and yellow exclamation mark will be shown. The list of errors will be displayed once mouse is placed over the yellow mark.

Click Edit next to the synchronization you want to edit.
Click Delete next to the synchronization to deactivate and remove it from the list.


  • Synchronization can be scheduled for remote data sources that are located on (S)FTP or HTTP(S) servers only.
  • The Go button that performs immediate synchronization is available for remote data source import only.
  • If the data in the file that resides on the remote servers has no changes, import will not be performed due to the data identity on both data file and Contact Manager.
  • If you use both the Delete contacts not found in the synchronization file and the scheduled synchronization with the external source options, and data file does not have more than 10% of contacts that appear in the Contact Manager, such import will not be performed in order to avoid accidental contacts deletion. If you still need to perform such import please either deactivate the Delete contacts not found in the synchronization file option or delete contacts from the Contact Manager manually before the synchronization.
  • In case you decide to update your Contact Manager and keep the same passwords for portal accounts, remove the mapping of the Password column during file import, or leave it empty in the file.