Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
 

Participant Portal provides access to Forms/Surveys or Tasks for Portal or Mobile App users by logging in to the Portal from a web browser or a mobile application. Portal can be set up on the Portal tab:

Participant Portal Settings

A Participant Portal is created for each Contact Manager available within the account. At the top of the Portal page you can select the needed Contact Manager:



Portal URL
 allows to access Online portal through the web browser. Portal ID is a unique identifier of the Portal, which is required to log into the Mobile app.

Please note that starting from December 4th, we have removed the Portal Offline URL from the Portal page, as it is incompatible with some question types, such as File Upload, Object Lookup, Multiple Object Lookup. In case you would like to continue using the Offline URL, you can recreate it by following the next format:

Server URL/offline/#{Portal ID}
For example, https://app.form.com/offline/#1065188

However, if you need to collect data in the Offline mode, we recommend accessing the Offline Portal via Mobile or Desktop Offline application.

Impersonate functionality allows you to see the Portal from the side of particular respondent. To use this feature, click View Impersonate button, type in the respondent's unique ID stored in the Contact Manager and click Ok:


On the Portal Settings page you can customize Portal behaviour and functions and apply design to the Portal layout in accordance with your corporate colors.

The Portal Logo option allows you to add a custom logo to the Portal. Select the image you would like to set as a logo by clicking the Add portal logo button. You can either select the image from the Media Library or upload a new one.


The Portal colors can be customized using the Colors pane. Once the Portal logo is selected or uploaded, the system may automatically match the colors to the logo:


It is still possible to select the Portal colors different from those matched by the system. Click "No, do not change" button and select necessary colors.

Available tabs
Portal administrators can change the names of "Forms" and "Tasks" tabs that appear in the mobile applications. The names' edit fields can be found on the Portal Settings page:


Links to be displayed on Portal
 Logout link is displayed on the Portal page by default. You can edit its name by clicking Pencil button next to Logout line. You can also embed links to internal or external web pages or documents by clicking on the New link:

Portal languages
Form/survey administrators have control over the languages that mobile application users can select by adding them on the Participant portal settings page. Administrators will also be allowed to translate custom labels they have provided for the "Forms" and "Tasks" tabs, and custom links they have added to be displayed on the portal:

Please, see the complete list of supported languages below:

 Click here to see the list:
Arabic - ar		
Czech - cs (cs_CZ)	
German - de	
Danish - da	
Greek - el	
Spanish - es	
English - en
Estonian - et	
Farsi - fa	
Finnish - fi	
French - fr
Hindi - hi	
Croatian - hr	
Hungarian - hu	
Indonesian - id_ID		
Italian - it	
Hebrew - he	
Japanese - ja	
Georgian - ka	
Khmer 	 km	
Korean 	 ko	
Lithuanian - lt	
Latvian - lv	
Malay - ms		
Burmese - my	
Dutch - nl	
Norwegian - no	
Polish - pl	
Portuguese - pt	
Romanian - ro
Russian - ru		
Slovak - sk	
Slovenian - sl	
Serbian - sr	
Swedish - sv	
Tamil - ta	
Thai - th	
Turkish - tr
Ukrainian - uk	
Vietnamese - vi		
Chinese simplified - zh_Cn
Tagalog - tl
Swahili - sw
Lao - lo

For details on how to use Multilingual Forms Offline, please refer to this help chapter.

Keep uploaded forms and tasks on device
This feature allows controlling whether Completed and Uploaded responses and tasks should stay on the device after upload or not. Responses or tasks may be removed from the device either immediately after uploading to the server or after a specified number of days. If you choose the option 'Always' they will stay on the device.
Security Options feature works in combination with the Delete after Upload/Delete after N days setting. It will prevent portal users from accessing Completed Responses and Tasks after they have been uploaded. This feature does not affect In Progress and Completed (Not Uploaded) responses.

 There are two Security Options available:

  • Allow Users Access to Completed Responses - this setting in combination with 'Delete after Upload/Delete after N days' option works for the Offline App only and removes data from the device to save space, but does not delete response headers. Therefore, when the internet is available, the Portal user can still click on the header of the completed response and download it. 
  • Deny Users Access to Completed Responses -  this setting in combination with 'Delete after Upload/Delete after N days' option applies to both Online Portal and Offline App, and does not allow the portal user to access completed and uploaded responses and tasks, as their headers are also removed from the portal.
  • Security Options applies to the whole portal, not to individual forms/tasks and does not impact Task Management
  • 'Always' option in Keep uploaded forms and tasks on device section is compatible only with Allow Users Access to Completed Responses security option
  • As the Portal administrator, you are able to change the setting from Allow Users Access to Completed Responses to Deny Users Access to Completed Responses and vice versa when needed. Once the Security option is changed, Online portal users will immediately see the change reflected on their portal. Offline users will need to synchronize their portal for this change to take effect
  • Pinned forms and tasks will NOT be accessible once Completed/Closed and Uploaded, unless 'Allow Users Access to Completed Responses and Closed Tasks' option is selected
  • For Responses, X days are counted from the day when response was created (on server); for Tasks, X days are counted from the day the task was Closed

  • For Tasks, it does not matter whether the form linked to the Task has been Completed. You will be able to access the form until that Task is Closed

Allow to Pin responses and tasks
Once a response or a task is pinned, its data with attachments will never be removed from the mobile device. The pinned response will be placed at the top of the list and all pinned responses will be sorted by submit date.

Authentication types 
Portal page is personal per each participant and should be secured. Therefore when creating Contact manager, two of its fields should be set as Login and Password for accessing the Participant portal (for instance email address, users' names or personal ID). Contact manager fields that are used as Login and Password for the particular portal are listed under the Authentication type pane:

Require password change at first login for all new users If this option is checked, all new users added to the Contact manager after you configure the portal settings will be asked to change their passwords on their first login.  If you need to apply it to existing Contact manager users, please use 'Require password change for all existing users' option.

Require password change for all existing users If this option is checked, all existing contacts will be asked to change their password upon logging into the portal for the first time or their next login.

Portal is available
Set up Portal activation date and time so the Portal is opened for respondents for a set period of time or make it accessible all the time by selecting the Always option.

Automatically download file attachments to Mobile app
For 
In progress responses and "Open" tasks you may specify whether the attached files should be downloaded back to the mobile device or not:

 

Autosave responses in Mobile app
New changes on the Portal will be periodically autosaved (every 5 seconds) if this feature is enabled.

You may turn it on for the whole Portal on this page or let the Portal user decide whether new data should be automatically saved on the background . A Portal user may enable this feature by going to Settings in Mobile app, or while filling out a form. By default, this option is disabled on the Portal Settings page.